I remember in the TV serial Entourage, Johnny Drama once said "an actor with no agent is...." Eric: is what?  Drama: is fucked!


Same thing goes to photographer with no website. It seems like every photographer has website to display their work. Either in blog form like the famous Storbist or in portfolio form.

I know sooner or later I will need a website, although I am not paying bill with photo. If I ever want to expand my field in photography, I must have a website. not only to display my work to the world, but also bring up the professionalism to have more photo shoot opportunity. 


Just not too long ago I have a chance shoot an formal event. I contact the event planner, when she ask if I can sent her the link to my website. I choked right there, At the time I don't even have my portfolio picture sort out. I upload few better photo to my Flickr account, and it look terrible. I haven't heard from her again.

when I start photography I have set a few step for myself.

  1. Foundation
  2. Advance gear
  3. Post-process (Photoshop)
  4. Website

 As today I think my photography skill is solid enough and have decent equipment to do the  job.

Before I learning photography I was aim to be a computer designer. So Photoshop is not a unfamiliar thing for me, I have done some photo editing before. The reason I didn't Photoshop my photo when I first start photography is to force myself learning pure 
foundation. I latter spent about a week to learn all about post-process including Adobe Lightroom.

The problem was website, this is a complete new territory for me. I never have class in computer science nor html. So I did what everyone does when they have problem. "Google it".  the first thing pop up was a site call Wix, it can help you construct a website without real knowledge in construct website. I play with it for a day, and can't accept the fact it does not have blog function. I remember a friend of mine has a blog in "Tumblr", and look pretty nice. I through maybe I can write blog in tumblr then post it on my site in wix. So I spend another day play with tumblr. the problem with tumblr is it doesn't feel like a blog. it feel more like a huge facebook wall. where you post photo, text, quota, video and other stuff. there is no real blog option, you post many text post to form your blog. I hate it.

Thanks to a friend of my Alice, she tell me about Weebly. I take a look and it's instantly better than the other two.So this bring me here today, hope I can add more fancy stuff to this website in the near future.


-Tony



Leave a Reply.